Guess That Book By The Cover

Have you ever looked at a book cover and found it so stunning that you feel you could stare at it for a thousand years? Have you felt like that about almost every book?
Well if you answered yes to either of those question then you’ve got a bit of luck on your side.
Today we’re gathered on my blog to play a very interesting bookish game that is going to test your memories(uh oh) and how much attention do you really pay to book covers(wohoo!)
tumblr_obhlotUiVZ1qb5qxmo1_500.gif

HOW DOES IT WORK?

So I will basically be describing the book covers in a few sentences and you will be trying to guess which book I’m talking about! Almost all of these books are 2019 releases but a couple backlist books are present as well. You click on ‘show answer’ for the correct answer to be revealed. Here’s an example of how it would go.

Description: ‌Supernova half-naked golden boy covered with tattoos is standing behind dark buildings. There are emerald ruins in the front.

Show Answer

CITY OF BONES

256683.jpg

 

So you get the idea…now let’s play!

GUESS THAT BOOK BY THE COVER

 

‌Description: Majestic Dragon wrapped around a tall tower plus fire. But there are also golden leaves and small white flowers in the foreground? What a contrast.

Show Answer

THE PRIORY OF THE ORANGE TREE

29774026.jpg

 

 

‌Description: There are two kids, a boy and a girl who seem to be holding a sword and a lightning bolt as they look at each other. There’s a giant menacing crab in the background who is looking at them, ready to attack.

Show Answer

ARU SHAH AND THE SONG OF DEATH

36323794.jpg

 

 

‌Description: A girl with paint covered hands is holding up black and white paper cut outs of a boy and girl holding hands and the boy and girl are also holding a sheet of paper. Too many hands is all that I can say. Oh and there are little yellow star sparkles and yellow thought bubbles around the cut out girl.

Show Answer

ELIZA AND HER MONSTERS

31931941.jpg

 

 

‌Description: There is a floating figure in the air dressed in strange black and red clothes, face covered by what seems like a pirate’s hat? The person has daggers in both hands and multiple outstretched orange hands are reaching for them.

Show Answer

A GATHERING OF SHADOWS

20764879.jpg

 

 

‌Description: The city of Paris lies in the foreground with a moon against the night sky in the background, outlining tow figures. One guy has a bow and arrow in his hands and the other is dressed in plain white clothes, just holding hand with the other guy.

Show Answer

THE RED SCROLLS OF MAGIC

30295312.jpg

 

 

‌Description: The cover displays head-shots of four people except that their faces are covered with cut outs of white ruled paper the size of their heads. Two are women and two are men. The title is written over them in red.

Show Answer

ONE OF US IS LYING

32571395.jpg

 

 

‌Description: There is a dark skinned girl with curly hair loosely held up in a bandana who is surrounded by fruits like mangoes and oranges and little purple flower stems.

Show Answer

WITH THE FIRE ON HIGH

38739562.jpg

 

 

‌Description: The cover has a girl wearing a black cap with half of her face covered by her own flying black hair and a black jacket that morphs into a night scene.

Show Answer

INTERNMENT

 

 

 

So what did you score? Were you able to guess all of them? Was this too difficult or too easy? Which one of these book covers is your absolute favourite? Do you want me to do more such fun posts in the future?

37 thoughts on “Guess That Book By The Cover

  1. This is such a fun idea!
    I was only able to guess one 😂, but after seeing the covers I think you described them so well!

    Like

  2. It was so much fun to try and guess the books!
    But I only got two right, so umm guess I don’t spend enough time staring at book covers?
    (in my defence I haven’t read/own a lot of these books – like Aru Shah and Eliza and diff cover for One of Us is Lying)

    Liked by 1 person

    • Ahaha I get it, I do spend a lot of time staring at book covers but I have a horrible memory 🙈 Ah yes I was worried about the different cover editions issue too.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. This was SUCH a fun post! I was so proud of myself for guessing so many of them! The one that tripped my up the most was Eliza and Her Monsters. I know that cover and I’ve read the book and yet I didn’t guess it! I got Priory of the Orange Tree and With the Fire on High Pretty quickly though, so to me that’s a fair trade!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you! Ooh that’s fantastic, most people had a bit of difficultly with remembering the covers 😝 Ah yes the Eliza one was complicated. Nice score!

      Like

  4. Ahh what a fun post, I loved it SO much, would definitley love to see more of them! Also I really need to practice, because I only got two right (Eliza and With The Fire on High), haha 😀

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment