Descendant of the Crane: The Masterpiece That Stole My Soul

What do you write about a book that’s already been raved about by every single person you know and which has rendered you absolutely speechless?

I’ve been putting off this review since so long because I’m positive that I’m just going to end up with garbled word vomit including things like ‘I’M DEAD’, ‘ANOTHER PLOT TWIST?!’, ‘YOU HAVE GOT TO READ THIS BOOK’. Yes, it’s every bit of a masterpiece that it claims to be. I literally love each and every word in this book and stayed up till 2am screaming and gasping and crying at this book.

In the end I’m going with a bullet point review because lists are what I go to when I have absolutely no idea what to do. I still have a very strong urge to abandon this post and just write a review consisting of ‘I LOVED THIS BOOK SO MUCH, JUST GO READ IT‘.

tenor (1).gif

Alright but first things first I need to kneel down and thank the wonderful Joan He for sending me an ARC of this book, she’s my queen now. This was of course in exchange for an honest review, in no way has it affected my thoughts and opinions. Okay, now onto the review!

Continue reading

Advertisements

The Princess and the Fangirl: This Book Gave Me Permanent Heart-eyes!

It’s common knowledge that we bookdragons are actually crazy and absolutely fanatic when it comes to geeking out over book. Better wear noise- cancelling headphones because your ears are gonna explode.

So it’s more than obvious that we love books that portray us fangirls in our full glory, ruling the world like we should.

Ahem. I’m getting a bit carried away…

Last year I went absolutely crazy over Geeerella by Ashley Poston, as did the rest of the book community because the book was fluff, it was fangirl, it was depth, it was EVERYTHING! I have blog posts to prove my obsession okay.

AND THEN I GOT TO KNOW ASHLEY POSTON IS WRITING A COMPANION NOVEL IN THE SAME UNIVERSE BUT WITH DIFFERENT CHARACTERS.

AND TO TOP THAT OFF I GOT APPROVED FOR AN ARC!!!

55vf0hI

I buddy-read this book with Tiffany because I thought no way was I gonna survive this alone but then Tiffany finished it in one sitting and I was like shit. This book is gonna kill me, isn’t it?

Spoiler alert, it did.

I’ve somehow managed to recover over the past weeks? And just in time because today this masterpiece releases in the world, IT’S HAPPY BOOK BIRTHDAY FOR THE PRINCESS AND THE FANGIRL!

So here are my thoughts on this glorious book that made a mess out of me 🙂

Continue reading

Sunscorched: Blog Tour

School has kept me so busy these days I’ve hardly picked up any ARCs for the fear of not being able to complete them. Plus I was a little put off since most of the ARCs I seemed to receive weren’t working out for me 😦

But on a whim I signed up for the blog tour of Sunscorched and I was in for a great surprise! Sunscorched is an intense and gripping dystopian thriller novel that had me glued to my e-reader and reading fervently till the very end.

This blog tour has been organised by YA Bound Book Tours who also provided me with a free e-copy of Sunscorched in exchange for a review.

 

dogs9PIw.jpeg

~I WAS SENT A FREE E-COPY OF THIS BOOK BY THE AUTHOR BUT THIS DOES NOT INFLUENCE MY OPINIONS IN ANY WAY. THIS BOOK REVIEW IS COMPLETELY HONEST AND STRAIGHT FROM MY HEART~

 

Goodreads Sumary:

Life can’t possibly get more treacherous than a violent sun allergy in a solar-blighted world. At least that’s what seventeen-year-old Nori Chisholm thought before news of an impending sunscorch delivered her death sentence. 

Desperate to survive the scorch, she’s forced to shelter underground and discovers a secret subterranean world where life is hard, and so are the people. Betrayed and left for dead by the man who pledged to help her, Nori is sold to a gritty pit fighting ring. There she makes a friend—and plenty of enemies.

Sam Cooper’s motives are at times impenetrable, but speeding through the underground world on the back of his motorcycle is a dark freedom Nori can’t live without. On the run from a group of cutthroat rogues, their escape takes an unexpected twist. A shocking discovery shatters everything they thought they knew. Can they use the knowledge to save what’s left of the world?

Winner of the Rosemary Award for excellence in young adult fiction, Sunscorched is a tale of survival and self-discovery at breakneck speed. Fans of Bella Forrest and Marie Lu, who crave dangerous heroes and dark secrets, will love the Sunscorched world.

Continue reading

Regular Porridge: Book Review

I’m pretty sure that my blog is one of the only ones out there which doesn’t post book reviews as often as it should. Don’t ask me why, that’s how it is! Even when I was starting this blog I knew that I wanted to do more of discussion posts, funny thoughts, listicles and so on and slip a couple of book reviews in between 😛

And today I’m going to be reviewing ‘Regular Porridge’ a short poetry book dealing with various important topics.

 

High resolution bookcover.jpg

~I was sent a free e-copy of this book by the author but this does not influence my opinions in any way. This book review is completely honest and straight from my heart~

Goodreads Summary:

Regular porridge as a collection explores the meaning of life- success and failure and how they intertwine, as well as how a person may find it difficult to balance the two, confusing one for the other. This book contains tales of how people go about their lives and the extraordinary web each life can weave, using the appreciation of art to explore the human experience. Love and human relations have been depicted in some pieces too. Love is agony, ecstasy, unpredictable, testing and perfectly serene. It doesn’t always have to be something you feel but something you do. In this collection, fiction has been used to catalyze introspection in people and instead of setting out to solely entertain readers, this poetry collection certainly educates, too.

Continue reading