My Half-Yearly Bookish Statistics

I’m honestly unsure of how time functions these days but I sure am glad to say that half of this shitty year has passed by. This calls for a celebration, you know whatever we can manage on Zoom.   Anyway… I’m not a huge maths or statistic fan but I love graphs and charts especially […]

Spellhackers: Cover Inspired Makeup Look

SPELLHACKERS M.K England Goodreads¬†~¬†Amazon(US)¬†~¬†Book Depository   Synopsis:¬† In Kyrkarta, magic‚ÄĒknown as maz‚ÄĒwas once a freely available natural resource. Then an earthquake released a magical plague, killing thousands and opening the door for a greedy corporation to make maz a commodity that‚Äôs tightly controlled‚ÄĒand, of course, outrageously expensive. Which is why Diz and her three best […]

My Blog Turns 2!

Happy 2 Year Anniversary to my little blog! Right now I’m just doing a celebratory dork dance in my head. And physically. It’s not merely about the fact that my blog is 2 years old but more about how successful this journey has been and how much I’ve gained from it and enjoyed the whole […]

Loveboat, Taipei Cover Inspired Makeup Look + Fancast

Title: Loveboat, Taipei (#1 Loveboat, Taipei) Author: Abigail Hing Wen Publication Date: January 7th, 2020 Publisher: HarperTeen Pages: 432 Age Category/Genre: Young Adult, Contemporary, Romance Purchase Links:¬† Amazon.com |Amazon.in|Book Depository | Barnes & Noble Synopsis: Perfect for fans of Jenny Han and Sarah Dessen, and praised as ‚Äúan intense rush of rebellion and romance‚ÄĚ by […]

Do I Have That Book Tag?

You would think I have every kind of book possible but apparently not… See this is why I shouldn’t be stopped from hoarding hundreds of books. *looks down at her weeping wallet* Okay fine, I get your point. Anyway, a while ago I saw this super interesting tag trending on booktube and it was so […]

The Pancake Book Tag

Are you drooling yet? Because I totally am! I’m a huge pancake fan, it’s my favourite breakfast and my favourite thing to cook. You can constantly find me experimenting with pancakes in the kitchen and find my friends drooling on instagram ūüėČ AND NOW YOU SAY PANCAKES WITH BOOKS? I remember seeing this tag float […]

YA Books Starter Pack

A while ago my bookstagram friend Vijitha @d_three_broomsticks tagged me in her post wherein she talked about how sometimes readers struggle from going to one genre to the other. Like suppose you love reading fantasy but you want to try out science fiction for a change. Where do you start? Do you start with the […]

Mini Reviews {Edition #2}

I just took a look at my book review posts and realised that I haven’t done any mini reviews since a decade! That’s sad because mini reviews are my absolute favourite and well I do have a lot of books whose reviews I haven’t really got to yet. Whoops.

Sunscorched: Blog Tour

School has kept me so busy these days I’ve hardly picked up any ARCs for the fear of not being able to complete them. Plus I was a little put off since most of the ARCs I seemed to receive weren’t working out for me ūüė¶ But on a whim I signed up for the […]

The Brightsiders Blog Tour + GIVEAWAY

A very Happy Book-Birthday to The Brightsiders, a lovely and captivating book by Jen Wilde. The Brightsiders is a very diverse and fun read and I feel really happy to be launching my review for it on it’s publishing day! This review is a part of a blog tour organised by Xpresso Book Tours and […]

Alone Together Blog Tour

Hi everyone! I’m kickstarting this month with a blog tour¬†¬†of ‘Alone Together’ by Sarah J. Donovan organised by YA Bound Book Tours. This is a really interesting story that I can’t wait to get my hands on!

Donovan Book Cover_FINAL copy.jpg

Official Goodreads Summary:

Sadie Carter’s life is a mess, as wavy and tangled as her unruly hair. At 15, she is barely surviving the chaos of her large Catholic family. When one sister becomes pregnant and another is thrown out, her unemployed dad hides his depression, and her mom hides a secret. Sadie, the peacekeeper and rule-follower, has had enough. The empty refrigerator, years of hand-me-downs, and all the secrets have to stop. She longs for something more and plans her escape.

However, getting arrested was not her plan. Falling in love was not her plan. With the help of three mysterious strangers‚ÄĒa cop, a teacher, and a cute boy‚ÄĒmaybe Sadie will find the strength to defy the rules and do the unexpected.

Told in verse, Sarah J. Donovan’s debut Alone Together has secrets, romance, struggle, sin, and redemption, all before Sadie blows out her 16 candles. It’s a courageously honest look at growing up in a big family.

It’s a story told in verse! Have you ever heard about such a thing? Well at least I haven’t! If the summary alone wasn’t enough to convince you I have a juicy excerpt that will have you falling over your feet to get to this book!

EXCERPT

SILENCE IN NUMBERS

No one is home.

No one.

#1 left at 18 to raise her own family‚ÄĒ

done being a second mother to the brood.

#2 left at 18 to train for triathlons‚ÄĒ

practically ran to Arizona the day he graduated.

#3 was kicked out at 18‚ÄĒ

an unforgivable sin, but we don’t talk about her.

I don’t know them all that well.

They never come home.

#4 and #5 left to go to college‚ÄĒ

have jobs on campus in the cafeteria,

wish I could see those boys washing dishes.

#6 left at 18 for restaurant management training‚ÄĒ

didn’t have the smarts for college,

wish I could see her running a crew.

I don’t know them all that well.

They never come home.

#7 runs a drive-thru

passing the time with college classes

until her boyfriend proposes.

#8 bakes croissants

saving every bit of dough

until she can plan her escape.

#10 runs with a gang

taking #11 to babysitting gigs

until she sneaks out to party.

I don’t know them all that well.

I was busy shoplifting.

 

 

You can buy this amazing book on Amazon or from Barnes & Noble

Not to mention that you can win a class set of Alone Together for your local high school here!

Be sure to check out the posts by other bloggers participating in this event who have lovely reviews and even more interesting excerpts planned out for you! Go follow the tour down below ūüôā

 

 

Blog Tour Schedule ‚Äst

May 1st

Stormy Nights Reviewing & Bloggin’¬†¬†Spotlight

Zili in the Sky   Spotlight

The Avid Reader   Author Interview

The Readdicts    http://thereaddicts.blogspot.in/    Promo Post

What Is That Book About   Spotlight

May 2nd

Paulette’s Papers¬† ¬†http://paulettespapers.com/¬†¬†¬†¬† Promo Post

Chapters through life     https://chaptersthroughlife.blogspot.co.uk/      Review

This and That Book Blog     http://thisandthatbookblog.blogspot.com Promo Post

The Cover Contessa     http://www.thecovercontessa.com       Promo Post

Loves Great Reads   https://lovesgreatreadsblog.wordpress.com/    Promo Post

May 3rd

Not Just Fiction https://itsnotjustfiction.wordpress.com     Promo Post

A New Look On Books   http://anewlookonbooks.com Promo Post

Dizneeee’s World of Books   http://dizneeeesworldofbooks.blogspot.com    Review

Books Direct       http://booksdirectonline.blogspot.com     Promo Post
Bri’s Book Nook¬† ¬†¬†https://brisbooknook.wordpress.com/¬† ¬† ¬†Review

May 4th

Belle’s Book Blog¬† ¬†¬†https://www.bellesbookblog.net¬† ¬†Review

Andi’s Young Adult Books¬† ¬† ¬†http://andisyoungadult.blogspot.com¬†¬† Review

Candrel’s Crafts, Cooks, and Characters¬†http://candrelsccc.craftylife.net¬† ¬†Promo Post

Hardcover Feedback    http://hardcoverfeedback.blogspot.com   Review

May 7th

Daily Waffle    http://dailywaffle.co.uk    Promo Post

MervReads    http://mervreads.wordpress.com   Promo Post

forthenovellovers     https://forthenovellovers.wordpress.com/   Review

Infinite House of Books    http://www.shannon-muir.com     Promo Post

The Voting Game: Blog Tour + Giveaway

Today is the official launch of the blog tour for ‘The Voting Game’ by Peter Gulgowski and I’m thrilled to be hosting this wonderful book on my blog!

The Voting Game has cute gay boys, excellent sibling rep, friends thicker than blood and an enthralling plot- you can’t ask for more!

The Voting Game cover.jpg

 

Title: The Voting Game

Author: Peter Gulgowski

Publisher: Self-published

Publication date: 06 March 2018

Genres: Young Adult, Science Fiction, Dystopian

 

In the year 2084, Every Interaction Counts. 

Darrius Young’s sixteenth birthday brings a harsh reality: It’s time to join the Voting Game. Playing is mandatory, and each day may be his last.

In this bleak future’s society, citizens rate their interactions with one another. Highest scorers are members of an elite upper-class. An average score means you can keep playing.

Fall below average? You are taken and killed by the government entity known only as The Bureau. 

Darrius has prepared his whole life for this challenge, knowing the reality he will soon face ‚ÄĒ especially after the death of his mother to the game.

But despite preparation, he’s losing ‚ÄĒ¬†and not just the Game. Suddenly the people he loves are getting brutally downvoted and¬†taken by the Bureau. It’s soon clear there’s a target on his back, drawn there by the Bureau itself, and Darrius has no idea why.

In a frantic race against time in a society that’s already sentenced him to death, can Darrius save himself and those around him before it’s too late?

Read More »