8 Books To Read If You Like These Board Games

See I’m a huge nerd. But you all already know that because you know I love to read. But maybe you don’t know how much I love board games. Literally, the moment you bring out a board game you see a different side of me emerge. I can spend hours playing board games and boy do I get competitive. Then I thought I can’t be the only one who loves reading and board games. So I’ve decided to combine the two and recommend some books based on some board games I love.

Let’s get the dice rolling 😉

8 Books To Read If You Like These Board Games

LUDO: The Jasmine Throne by Tasha Suri

Let’s start with a classic game! Ludo is the game. Every kid, every parent, every grandparent knows how to play it, at least here in India. But Ludo is a game of patience because it’s notorious for running long. It can literally last for hours and I swear relationships break when you kill each other’s pawns. It’s all very slow-paced and you have to be patient. The game is a mix of luck and planning.

I think The Jasmine Throne is a perfect fit. First of all, it’s a thick and long book with a slow-paced plot that can drive you insane. But at the same time the worldbuilding is so lush and the characters so well-developed that it’s absolutely worth it. It’s a book about magic and kingdoms and two women at the heart of it. The book is also inspired by the history and epics of India so it would really be a crime for me to not recommend it.

Related Post: Reviewing The Jasmine Throne: An Enchanting South-Asian Fantasy

SCOTLAND YARD: An Unwanted Guest by Shari Lapena

Speaking of crime, I absolutely love playing Scotland Yard, a game where a group of detectives try catching a criminal. The fun part is the criminal and detectives are the players so they’re pitted against each other. It’s an incredibly strategic game for both sides as they try to predict each other’s moves.

I chose An Unwanted Guest for this because like Scotland Yard, this book is about a weekend retreat gone wrong where the people in the hotel need to find the murderer amongst them before they all get killed. You have to put yourself in the killer’s shoes and try to catch him. It’s a very atmospheric book with an unpredictable plot guaranteed to engage you.

PICTIONARY: The Magic Fish by Trung Le Nguyen

I love pictionary yet nobody wants to play with me cause I’m the artist of the family 😦 Seriously though, unless you’ve been living under a rock you’ll know what a fun game pictionary is whether you’re a pro artist or a stick figure novice. It’s great entertainment trying to guess what the other person is drawing and then laughing your heads off over it.

So of course I had to recommend a graphic novel! The Magic Fish is a beautifully illustrated story spanning fairytales and real life with a beautiful yet restricted colour palette. It’s a story about family, identity, language and culture told in the most magical way possible.

CONNECT FOUR: The Comfort Book by Matt Haig

Another classic and pretty well know game is Connect Four. I mean what could be simpler than playing a game where you need to connect four piece of the same colour? A game for people of all ages! It’s simple, reminds you of your childhood and is just generally a chill game to go to.

That’s why I’m reminded of The Comfort Book, a collection of notes, stories, advice and just simple things that can make you feel comforted and offer warmth. It reminds us to slow down in a fast-paced world and enjoy being who we are and stopping to smell the roses. Okay yes, this sounds way too cheesy but I found myself quite at peace when I read this book so you should definitely give it a go 🙂

CLUEDO: The Strange Death of Anindyasundar by Anish Deb

Gosh I love mysteries. Cluedo is a fantastic game of strategy, detective work and being three steps ahead of other players. The premise is that Mr X has been murdered at a house party and the players have to separately figure out which of the guests committed the murder, with which weapon and in which room. It’s a thrilling race against each other in a whodunnit game.

It reminds me of a whodunnit short story that I read recently, The Strange Death of Anindyasundar. Anindyasundar, a murder mystery writer, finds that he has been murdered and an angel grants him 24 hours to solve the mystery of his death without changing much of the past. He has his suspects, possible weapons and motives but now he must figure out who had the courage to act on the motive. This book packs a punch for such a story and the narration in audiobook format is bound to blow your mind!

JENGA: Gearbreakers by Zoe Hana Mikuta

Oh the good old Jenga. There’s nothing more joyous than trying to play architect and destroyer as you manouever and balance jenga blocks, trying to win while not letting the tower fall. I associate Jenga with copious amounts of tension, chaos and just general destruction.

A book that fits this very description is Gearbreakers, a story about two girls fighting on the opposite side of war. It’s packed with action, chaos, destruction and a hell lot of automatons and mechanized weapons. It’s quite intense but also has a healthy amount of plot and a rag-tag cast of characters to balance everything out. Full disclosure: I walked away from this book with mixed emotions but I think a huge majority of readers end up loving this book.

Related Post: Reviewing Gearbreakers: A Queer Asian Sci-fi Pageturner

CATAN: Girl, Serpent, Thorn by Melissa Bashardoust

Okay I played Catan once but fell in love with the game. My problem is I haven’t since encountered people who know how to play the game and nor do I own Catan myself. Basically players become settlers as they try to build and develop settlements while trading and acquiring resources. It’s quite a strategic game but it also gives me strong fantasy vibes so I decided to pick Girl, Serpent, Thorn as a recommendation.

I absolutely love this book set in a Persian inspired fantasy world with a sapphic romance and morally-grey characters that I was absolutely rooting for! Like the game, I found the book quite immersive and gripping.

Related Post: Girl, Serpent, Thorn: A Persian Mythology Inspired Fantasy That Won My Heart

SCRABBLE: Queen of the Tiles by Hanna Alkaf

Scrabble is yet another game nobody in my family plays with me cause clearly readers have superior vocabulary. Love how 30% of this post has turned into me boasting about my board game skills, lol.

But I literally have the perfect book to compare with this game, the only catch being it hasn’t released yet. Queen of the Tiles is about a girl who plays Scrabble competitively and loves puzzles. We follow her as she tries solving the cryptic messages that have started popping up on her dead best-friend’s Instagram account as it keeps revealing her friends’ secrets. Doesn’t this sound amazing?! I honestly can’t wait for this book’s release!

Are you a fan of board games as well? Which is your favourite game?

Have you read any of these books or are they on your TBR?

What are some books that you would like to compare to these board games?

21 thoughts on “8 Books To Read If You Like These Board Games

  1. No monopoly?! aww x)
    jokes aside- Id LOVE to play so much more board games.. if I’d even have the friends to. My parents only agrees to play with me on holidays, waiting for christmas at midnight xd otherwise mother don’t wanna play because “It’s boring at 2players”.

    I’d definately love a part 2, there’ so many board games out there!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Omg I tried! Hard to think of a book that could match, lol.
      Oh yeah I totally get it. MY family isn’t that into board games and even with my sister it’s just 2 players and lots of games require 3 :/

      Liked by 2 people

  2. THIS IS SUCH A COOL IDEA CHARVI!! yesss i don’t get a lot of time to play board games but they were my whole LIFE earlier and I still love playing them occassionally (tho i find time everyday to play Ludo with my mother, and oh the emotional blackmail when its her piece getting cut 😂). Cluedo is one of my other fav games, it can get so intense!! and i totally agree with what you said about Jenga, it’s pure CHAOS.
    love the recommendations charvi, and YES I WANT A PART 2 too

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you so much!!!
      Yesss board game lovers unite ❤ Oh my god mothers are soooo dramatic yet fun to play with, lol.
      Yaay thank you for the support! Will definitely try writing a part 2 😀

      Liked by 2 people

  3. This is such a cute post and honestly super timely because I’ve really been thinking that I need to learn how to play board games??? It’s something that never occurred to me but hey, the panini having us all stay home and all that lmao.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Aww, thank you!
      Omg yes, definitely! I would recommend Monodeal if you can get your hands on it. It’s like monopoly but a card game version which is much more fun and doesn’t have to drag as much as the board game 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s