June Book Releases That Are Calling To Me

June feels like a month that is exploding with amazing new book releases. I had a really long line-up and I went ahead and shortened it to the top 8 books that I’m looking forward to the most.

While I’m not able to buy any copies of these books I’ve thankfully received some ARC copies and shifted to audiobook versions of many upcoming releases. Either way, it’s very important to support new releases in times like these and that’s why this post is dedicating to me screaming about how amazing these books sound.

Do yourself a favor and go grab a copy of every book on this list πŸ˜‰

bouquet-card-special-occasion-creative-watercolor_83728-1052

June Book Releases That Are Calling To Me

1. The Dark Tide

52411049._SX318_SY475_

The Dark Tide is a twisted and dark fairytale full of sacrifices, sisterhood and love. Especially unexpected love. I’m so excited for this one because dark fairytales are my jam. I even won an early ARC for this one but it got delivered to my university during the quarantine so now I’m sobbing and wondering when I’ll be able to lay my hands on this beautiful book.

RELEASE DATE: 2nd June

2. You Should See Me In A Crown

50160619._SX318_SY475_

Okay I’ll be honest, this title first attracted my attention because of the Billie Eilish reference. But You Should See Me In A Crown seems a soft queer book about Liz whose financial aid falls through and the only option she has to win the school’s scholarship for prom king and queen. Easy-peasy except that she starts falling for her competition.

Ahhh this sounds so exciting? We don’t have proms in my country but I love reading about them in books!

RELEASE DATE: 2nd June

3. A Song Below Water

39085465._SY475_

Are you kidding me? A black siren girl who’s hiding her identity? I had clicked Want To Read on Goodreads before I knew it.

A Song Below Water is about Tavia who’s trying to keep her siren identity under the wraps in the city. But then a siren is murdered and one of Tavia’s most admired Internet idol reveals her identity as a siren. In addition, Tavia accidentally reveals her voice at a police station. It’s a freaking mess and I’m loving it. I haven’t read many books with sirens but the ones I have were amazing and I have a feeling that this one will blow my mind as well.

RELEASE DATE: 2nd June

4. Curse Of The Night Witch

42856678

Curse Of The Night Witch is about who Tor who is blessed with a superpower he doesn’t want. Upon wishing for a different superpower he gets cursed, shortening his life to the next two weeks and the only way to survive is by taking a trip to the notorious Night Witch.

It just seems to be brimming with adventure and superpowers and I’m here for it! Also, the cover is so intricate and gorgeous, I can’t stop staring!!!

RELEASE DATE: 9th June

5. You Say It First

51822300

In You Say It First, our protagonist Meg seems to have a perfect life until she gets an annoying call from a stranger who gets under her skin. The stranger, Colby, is going through a bad time and has no interest in a privileged rich girl preaching the sanctity of the political process.

But this turns into an enemies to lovers story over phone calls and texts and that’s two of my favourite bookish tropes ever! I know that it releases in audiobook format on Storytel pretty soon and I’m so looking forward to that!

RELEASE DATE: 16th June

6. The Circus Rose

43261119

You say circus and I’m there! Seriously, I saw the title and the cover and immediately added it to my TBR. And then I saw that it’s a queer retelling of Snow White and died.

The Circus Rose is about twins Rosie and Ivory who are the daughter’s of the circus’ ringmaster. We’re not given much except that disaster strikes during Rosie’s tightrope act and now Ivory has to hunt down an evil priest who’s trying to sabotage the circus. Mysterious much?

RELEASE DATE: 16th June

Related Post: Why I Love Books Set In Circuses

7. I’ll Be The One

53098416

A book that is pitched for fans of Jenny Han and Julie Murphy featuring a fat K-pop star? You’ve definitely got my attention. Say fat rep and the book is already on my TBR πŸ˜‰

Our protagonist of I’ll Be The One, Skye, enters a competition to become the next K-pop star and nails her audition. But she’s not counting on the fatphobic Korean industry and possibly falling in love. Oh and I must say, the cover is gorgeous.

RELEASE DATE: 16th June

8. Hunted By The Sky

46223341

I’M SCREAMING AT THAT COVER, HOW IS IT SO STUNNING?!

Ahem, this book just radiates desi gloriousness? Hunted By The Sky is about Gul, a girl with a birthmark in a kingdom where girls with birthmarks keep disappearing. When the mark gets her parents killed she joins a secret society and trains to be a warrior with magic. Her only aim is revenge but the sparks between her and Cavas might come in the way of her long-held plan. When I say that I’ll give my souul to read this book I absolutely mean it. And I did get selected for a blog tour for Hunted By The Sky so expect a review from me soon!

RELEASE DATE: 23rd June

9. Mexican Gothic

53152636._SX318_SY475_

Noemi is contacted by her frantic newly-wed cousin for help from impending doom and she rushes to her side in the Mexican countryside. Noemi must uncover the dark secrets of the house and rise over the menacing family men of which only the youngest son offers her solace.

I’m getting a lot of dark mystery vibes from Mexican Gothic and I usually need a solid plot to make a decision of reading a book but I’m feeling really drawn in by this book’s aura and I can’t wait to read it!

RELEASE DATE: 30th June

1566178106808

Are any of these books on your TBR too?

Which June book releases are you most excited for?

Have you already read any of these books? If so, let me know your thoughts.

How do you keep track of the new releases you want to read?

1570686123472

16 thoughts on “June Book Releases That Are Calling To Me

    1. Yaay! A Song Below Water seems very promising. I actually haven’t heard of tht author duo(I’m presuming there are two authors?) and I usually don’t read much of that genre but for some reason the blurb of Mexican Gothic is super compelling.

      Liked by 1 person

  1. I do a very VERY bad job of keeping track of new releases I’m excited about, I can tell you that right now. I had an ARC of A Song Below Water and finished it this week, so I can report that it’s genuinely excellent. It made me really excited for whatever Bethany Morrow’s going to do next. And I hadn’t heard of The Dark Tide — I love fairy tales and sisters so I’m definitely adding that to my list!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Haha that was me until very recently but I’ve started to keep track of them in a spreadsheet. Ooh that’s great to know, I can’t wait to get my hands on a copy πŸ˜„
      I’m so excited that my post made you add The Dark Tide! Hope you enjoy it!

      Like

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s