Sunscorched: Blog Tour

School has kept me so busy these days I’ve hardly picked up any ARCs for the fear of not being able to complete them. Plus I was a little put off since most of the ARCs I seemed to receive weren’t working out for me 😦

But on a whim I signed up for the blog tour of Sunscorched and I was in for a great surprise! Sunscorched is an intense and gripping dystopian thriller novel that had me glued to my e-reader and reading fervently till the very end.

This blog tour has been organised by YA Bound Book Tours who also provided me with a free e-copy of Sunscorched in exchange for a review.

 

dogs9PIw.jpeg

~I WAS SENT A FREE E-COPY OF THIS BOOK BY THE AUTHOR BUT THIS DOES NOT INFLUENCE MY OPINIONS IN ANY WAY. THIS BOOK REVIEW IS COMPLETELY HONEST AND STRAIGHT FROM MY HEART~

 

Goodreads Sumary:

Life can’t possibly get more treacherous than a violent sun allergy in a solar-blighted world. At least that’s what seventeen-year-old Nori Chisholm thought before news of an impending sunscorch delivered her death sentence. 

Desperate to survive the scorch, she’s forced to shelter underground and discovers a secret subterranean world where life is hard, and so are the people. Betrayed and left for dead by the man who pledged to help her, Nori is sold to a gritty pit fighting ring. There she makes a friend—and plenty of enemies.

Sam Cooper’s motives are at times impenetrable, but speeding through the underground world on the back of his motorcycle is a dark freedom Nori can’t live without. On the run from a group of cutthroat rogues, their escape takes an unexpected twist. A shocking discovery shatters everything they thought they knew. Can they use the knowledge to save what’s left of the world?

Winner of the Rosemary Award for excellence in young adult fiction, Sunscorched is a tale of survival and self-discovery at breakneck speed. Fans of Bella Forrest and Marie Lu, who crave dangerous heroes and dark secrets, will love the Sunscorched world.

My Review

 

This was an amazing read that was very fast-paced and has definitely restored my faith in dystopian novels!

Sunscorched has a powerful narrator in the form of 17 year old Nori Chrisholm who starts off as a determined but scared and feeble character but evolves into a strong and clever fighter whom you don’t want to mess with. But I liked the fact that this doesn’t mean the author completely erases the softer sides of Nori to portray a fighter – she is complete in her own way.

I still don’t know how to react to Nori’s parents, they seemed off somehow. They just weren’t written as well as the other characters in the story and I somehow failed to connect with them.

I love how Cooper was shrouded in mystery from the very beginning and how the author kept at it throughout. This is one shady character we can never really be sure about! But by far my favorite character was Kade. I love hulk like male characters who turn out to be kind softies on the inside! I am here for this trope. And he is gay. I literally need nothing else.

Kade was a guiding light for Nori since the beginning of the book. I loved how he wasn’t just there to support her but also was a huge help in shaping her character. He taught her to be strong in a world that wanted to crush her but he merely guided her, making her walk on the path all alone which is really what brought out her brave and daring soul. They had an instantaneous connection and a beautiful one too where they were both just there for each other in every possible way. Just give me more pure friendships like this :’)

 

qt_UotmQ.jpeg

 

The plot wasn’t confirming to a general cliche that many dystopian novels seem too get sucked into but was pretty interesting and gripping with it’s own plot twists that got me almost every time. The only thing that unsettled me were Nori’s parents and the fact that the ending seemed pretty abrupt and maybe just slightly rushed?

But all in all this book is definitely worth the read and I would recommend to all dystopian lovers 🙂

 

4/5 stars4stars.jpg

 

qt_UotmQ.jpeg

Purchase Links: Amazon | Barnes & Noble | Kobo | iTunes

 

Go check out what other reviewers have to say about Sunscorched by following the blog tour.

Blog Tour Schedule –

October 29th                                                                       

Finding Magic In Books

Wishful Endings

The Cover Contessa

My Bookish Escapades

Mythical Books

October 30th

Living in a Bookworld

YA/NA Book Divas

The Avid Reader

BeachBoundBooks

All the Ups and Downs

October 31st

The Avid Reader

Andi’s Young Adult Books

ashleysgotbookcitement 

Character Madness and Musings

Beckie Bookworm

November 1st

A New Look On Books’ Blog 

 Artsy Draft 

Declarations of a Fangirl

YA/NA Book Divas

Oh Hey! Books 

November 2nd

Bookish Bibliophile  

My Lovely Secret   

Willow’s Thoughts And Book Obsessions 

 

Also, you can win a signed copy of Sunscorched and special Sunscorched hairbands by entering this giveaway right here. (US only, sorry!)

 

What are your thoughts on this book? Are you a fan of dystopian novels like me? If yes then you’ll definitely like Sunscorched! Do you prefer romantic relationships or platonic ones in a book? Let me know in the comments below 🙂

6 thoughts on “Sunscorched: Blog Tour

  1. Lovely review, Charvi, I’m glad to hear you enjoyed that one! I really like dystopian novels, but I have read a lot of them and have been getting a bit tired of them this past year. I’ll have to check out that one when I’m in the mood though, it sounds interesting 😀

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s